Social networking

http://www.guardian.co.uk/books/2011/jan/15/novels-internet-laura-miller

It’s quite a good article, and raises good questions. I’m beginning to believe that social networking is distancing and, at times, an emotionally-challenging technology BECAUSE it spreads distances.

I love my friends, and Facebook keeps me in touch (well, I keep me in touch really) with what they’re doing. But it also made/makes it very difficult to move on, without becoming trapped in a loop of endless college reminicing, wishing I could be there.

It isn’t fair to blame Facebook for that. The digital photos on my screensaver do the same thing, particularly those from my university and Oxford.

But photos don’t speak, don’t tell you what those people are doing now, don’t cheerfully make you wish that you were still with those people, doing those things. I think that’s what makes Facebook such a dangerous tool for graduates, at least as I’ve found. Others do not have positive high school/college/work relations and don’t want to see those people, but I did, and do.

Unfortunately, it results in a long-term feeling of ‘I don’t want to leave’. Facebook gives you the perfect world, no stress, cathartic and undemanding as a movie theatre. Is it any wonder we want to stay?

Ridiculous moment time: If Rick and Ilsa from Casablanca had Facebook… (well, we know her marriage to Victor would go down the tubes, but Rick would face essentially the same problem. /Oh God. She’s right there. At her computer. She responded to my message with a smiley face. I wish she was here. 😥 /

(yes, that’s totally out of character for Bogart, who apparently says “G–d-mnit!” whenever he forgets a line. He gets angry.)

But social networking altogether… boy, I don’t know.

About Miss Jones writes...

Lisa is a fiction writer who is slowly learning to hack away at the excess words of her craft. Slowly. Verrrrry slowly. She draws, writes, reads, sings, and does the dishes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

